The Tour Divide 2016

This Winter Solstice came fairly unexpectedly.

I say this for 2 reasons. One, the weather here in New York has been mild to say the least, and two, it’s typically when riders in the next year’s Tour Divide write and post their letters of intent, something this post will do.

First off, what is the Tour Divide you might be asking?

It is ‘the world’s toughest mountain bike race’ spanning the length of the Continental Divide from Banff, Alberta, to the US/Mexico border at Antelope Wells, New Mexico. It covers 2,745 miles of the American West, going through Alberta, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, and finally New Mexico. It is entirely self-supported, with riders/racers carrying all they need by themselves, and for themselves.

Why the hell am I saying all of this then?

Well, I am one of those crazy people who thinks that they can start and finish that ride.

I want to become one of those few lucky enough to say they can do that ride, and I want to have that under my belt before I have to go college, to prove to myself that anything I set my mind to, I can do.
I want to attempt to complete the ride/race in 21-22 days. I would give myself extra time just in case, of course, but that would be the ideal scenario.
I obviously would need to start training, as I’ve only a half a year until the event, which now that I’m posting this, it should hopefully kickstart me into gear.

I’m going to be posting more about this, but until then, here it is.

I am Ben Martinez, and I am going to race the 2016 Tour Divide.

-ben martinez

Leave a comment